Wisconsin auto owners are required to have insurance, but how do you know what kind of insurance is needed and why? Auto insurance provides protection far beyond simple crash and dent coverage to help protect you against liability, lawsuits, and more. Our team at Johnsen Insurance in Baraboo, WI wants to help you understand state insurance laws, and get you the right coverage for your needs.
Here is what you need to know about Wisconsin insurance law:
Proof of Insurance
Wisconsin law requires proof of insurance for auto owners and operators. You don’t need proof of insurance simply to obtain a license or register a vehicle, but will be required to show this should you get stopped by an officer or involved in an accident — even if it’s not your fault. Failure to provide proof of this insurance can result in $10 for simply failing to show insurance, but it rises to $500 if you are not able to provide that proof later. Showing fraudulent insurance can result in a $5000 fine.
And that’s not counting any damages you may be liable for in an accident.
And while proof of insurance is required, you must only prove that you have qualifying liability insurance — not full accident and damage coverage. This distinction is helpful to many older car owners who don’t mind an extra scratch or dent. Wisconsin auto liability must simply cover $10,000 towards property damage and at least $25,000 per person injured or in the case of accidental death. Additional coverage is by choice and not state law.
Contact Us Today
Don’t risk your auto, instead check with the experts at Johnsen Insurance in Baraboo, WI. We’re ready to get you on the road.